An Inspirational Bamboo Mobile Home

Dai Haifei's Mobile Egg-Shaped House (Source:http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4110/5219885030_11235ab875_b.jpg)

I often lament that I rarely see architecture that I ‘really like’ and wish that I had designed. So I was ecstatic when I signed out of my Yahoo email this morning and saw THIS staring me in the face! I find it inspirational that someone has achieved what I have been contemplating and researching for some time now (see my earlier posts on bamboo and weaving). I am currently working on projects with green roofs and green walls at Ball-Nogues Studio and Kamath Design Studio so I really appreciate the elegance of Dai’s solution.

Green Wall/Roof Detail from Dai's House (Source: http://cubeme.com/blog/2010/12/03/egg-shaped-dwelling-in-beijing-by-dai-haifei/)

A complete documentation of the design and construction process can be found in this Flickr slide show and this article features an interview with Dai along with a cost analysis of the house. I only wonder if the steel reinforcement bar framework could have been avoided and the bamboo basket could have taken all the load.

Leave a Reply

